U.S.A refuses Chinese mobile service provider China Mobile entry to its market

This past Wednesday, Ajit Pai, president of the Federal Communications Committee (FCC), said he was opposed to allowing Chinese telecommunications giant China Mobile to offer their mobile services in the United States of America. The matter will be put to vote next month.


Safekeeping the integrity of our telecommunication networks is key when it comes to our national safety,” said Pai, in a declaration in which he argued that the Chinese company’s offer “implied serious and substantial law enforcement risks.”


“After reviewing the evidence in this proceeding, including the input provided by other federal agencies, it is clear that China Mobile‘s application to provide telecommunications services in our country raises substantial and serious national security and law enforcement risks,” he said.


China Mobile presented a request to offer their services in the United States on September 2011. After a long review process, the FCC chairman announced today that said proposal puts national safety at risk.


Therefore, I do not believe that approving it would be in the public interest. I hope that my colleagues will join me in voting to reject China Mobile‘s application,” said Pai, who was out in chare of the FCC by U.S. president Donald Trump.


According to the Committee, China Mobile would remain property of the People’s Republic of China’s government, and could be used by Beijing to spy on the American people.


The FCC unexpected announcement comes during a time when Chinese communication companies are a source of general worry due to their powerful presence in U.S. social networks.


Back in March 2018, Pai announced that the FCC was working on a new law that would forbid U.S. providers such as AT&T and Verizon from using Universal Service Funds to buy telecommunication equipment from China-based providers to use on their networks.


This new law will be put to vote this next May 9, though according to specialized media, the opinion of some Commission members is still unknown.



No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.